Write a catchy title...

Add some more info about this item...

What's this item about? What makes it interesting? Write a catchy description to grab your audience's attention...

The IAGG Presidential Award marks the tradition of acknowledging individuals who have contributed to the enhancement of IAGG in specific tasks and, more generally, in the promotion of gerontology and geriatrics around the world.

The Late Professor Nana Araba Apt

African Region

The Late Professor Sutthichai Jitapunkul

Asia/Oceania Region

Professor Sang Chul Park

Asia/Oceania Region

Professor Yasuyoshi Ouchi

Asia/Oceania Region

Professor Dorothy Joan Hardy Deeg

European Region

Professor Jose Fernando Gomez Montes

Latin American Region

Professor Norah Keating

North American Region

This medal was delivered by Professor Vellas during the opening ceremony of the Seoul Congress on June 23, 2013 at the Seoul Convention Center. Professor Vellas was happy to nominate the following persons for the 2013 Presidential Award in recognition of their work achieved during the past years to pursue objectives and implementation of IAGG activities worldwide and for the countless efforts they made to promote gerontology and geriatrics internationally. 

Alan Sinclair MD, MSc, FRCP

European Region

For his tireless efforts over a quarter of a century to enhance the overall quality of medical care for older people in ageing societies and in particular to bring about important new insights into diabetes in older people and its inter-relationships with frailty. Professor Sinclair has contributed to many IAGG-linked activities and workshops leading to international clinical guidance and led the postgraduate education in diabetes program for the IAGG. Professor Sinclair is Director of the Foundation for Diabetes Research in Older People at Diabetes Frail.

Isabella Aboderin, PhD

African Region

For her involvement in African gerontology and geriatrics, with particular attention to social and human rights issues. As 1st Chair of IAGG’s Africa Region, she has made countless efforts to develop gerontology and geriatrics on the African continent. She initiated the construction of the regional structure, founded in 2009 and organized IAGG’s 1st Africa Region Congress on October 17-20, 2012 in Cape Town, South Africa.

Sung Jae Choi BA, MSW, PhD

Asia/Oceania Region

For his relentless devotion to the organization of IAGG’s 20th World Congress of Gerontology and Geriatrics from June 23-27, 2013 in Seoul, Korea. Professor Choi has played an important role in the social awareness of the problems of aging in Korea. He has been a key contributor to his country’s gerontological development and will pursue his engagement as IAGG’s Secretary General-Vice President for the next 2013-2017 mandate. We wish him much success in this new task.

Bernard Forette, MD

European Region

For his important contribution and tireless efforts in making a great success of the 19th World Congress of Gerontology and Geriatrics in Paris, July 2009, as well as his promotion ofgerontology worldwide. Dr. Forette was Professor of Medicine and Head of Department at the Sainte-PérineHospital, as well as Director of the Claude-Bernard Center of Gerontology, Paris.

Renato Maia Guimaraes, MD, MSc

Latin American Region

For his 4-year mandate as President of IAGG and his full commitment to the Association’s development at the international, regional and national levels from 2005-2009. This led to the creation of the African Region, IAGG’s 5th region, and to the approval of IAGG for Special Consultative Status at the Economic and Social Council at the United Nations. Dr. Guimaraes was awarded membership to the Academy of Medicine of Brasilia. Today, he continues to enhance gerontology and geriatrics as coordinator of Continuing Education and Research on Aging Health at the Higher School of Health Sciences (ESCS) in Brasilia.

Luis Miguel Gutierrez-Robeldo, MD, PhD

Latin American Region

in recognition for his work on epidemiological issues related to aging, particularly on frailty and dementia and the interface between both conditions and for his different undertakings within various committees and organizations in his country and in Latin America. Dr. Gutierrez holds the position of Director General of the National Institute of Geriatrics in Mexico and was a founding member of the Latin American Academy for the Medicine of Ageing (ALMA). He also holds the first Geriatrics Chair at the National Academy of Medicine in Mexico. His participation in IAGG was outstanding as member of IAGG’s Advisory Committee and during the IAGG/WHO/SFGG workshop on “Frailty” in January 2011 in Athens, Greece.

Laura Mello Machado

Latin American Region

Awarded for her tremendous work as IAGG’S International Coordinator for United Nations Affairs. Over the past 8 years, she obtained the approval of the improved status of IAGG for Special Consultative Status at the Economic and Social Council at the United Nations and promoted relentlessly for the need of a UN convention on the rights of older people. Ms. Machado is presently member of the Council of the Brazilian Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology, member of the Board of Trustees of HelpAge International, and Executive Director of InterAge Consulting in Gerontology. In 2010, Brazilian President Lula presented her with the country’s highest Human Rights Award for her contribution to the agenda in Brazil and for her involvement in the protection of the rights of older persons.

Jean-Pierre Michel, MD

European Region

For his constant support and input for IAGG’s Master Classes on Aging held in Taiwan in 2011, Hong Kong in 2012 and Beijing in 2013. As IAGG Ambassador to the Middle East, his assistance for the launch of the bases of a future IAGG Middle East region in September 2012 in Doha, Qatar is also highly appreciated. Professor Michel co-founded the Interfaculty Gerontology Center (Geneva University) and the European Academy for Medicine of Aging (EAMA), the Latin America (ALMA) and Middle East Academy of Medicine of Ageing (MEAMA). He is currently President of the EUGMS (European Union of Geriatric Medicine Society). He was just elected full board member of the French Academy of Medicine.

John Morley, MB, BCh

North American Region

For his significant contributions to nursing home issues through actions such as: the 1st IAGG/WHO/SFGG workshop on the “Identification of the Main Relevant Domains for Clinical Research & Quality of Care in Nursing Homes” in Toulouse, France in June 2010, IAGG’s Nursing Home Care conferences in Hong Kong and Chengdu, China in May 2011, the International Nursing Home Survey in November 2012 and for his numerous publications. Dr. Morley is the Dammert Professor of Gerontology and Director of the Divisions of Geriatric Medicine and Endocrinology at Saint Louis University Medical Center. Dr. Morley is an internationally recognized expert in gerontology and Alzheimer's research.

Antoni Salva, MD

European Region

For his continued contributions to the dissemination of gerontological and geriatric courses intended for all professionals related to aging issues. As Director of the Institut de l'Envelliment (Institute on Aging) of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Dr. Salvà hosted IAGG’s first two Intensive Courses on Aging that got together a total of 33 experts and 272 delegates. Another edition is expected to be organized in 2014.

Please reload



IAGG Secretariat

Address: 722 West 168th Street, New York, NY 10032
Telephone: +1 212-305-0294 / Email:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now